Posted by: yuk22319 | January 29, 2010

How it started

When I was younger my parents did a great job of teaching me the importance of saving up for things and paying cash. Telling me to save money for the future. and living within my means. But you see I was smarter than them. When they left town one weekend I had a party at the house and wanted to watch some movies with my friends. the only problem is that we didn’t have a VCR (you younger people may have to GOOGLE that if you don’t know what it is) So off to Montgomery Wards I went to buy a VCR, on my new Wards credit card of course. same thing with Sears. I was walking through the store one day and saw the best fish-finder in the world. So I opened up a Sears Card and bought it. Of course I did not have a boat but that was a small detail that would have to be worked out later. So I went through life pretty much like that for years and years.At the time I was going to school and working about70-80 hours a week between two jobs. One in a R & D lab where I got paid to blow things up and the other Bar Tending at a Resort so I was making good money and was able to avoid sinking to far in the hole. I also liked driving nice cars, my younger years were filled with owning Z-28’s, Mustang GT’s and my personal favorite the brand new Formula Firebird Black on black with T tops that I owned for two and a half weeks before totaling it. In my late 20’s I made the move to Supervising and Management as a career choice and with that came a decent pay cut. I went from making good cash money every day to collecting a paycheck every two weeks. The only problem was that I was still spending like I was working two jobs and making more money. Fast forward about 5 years and I was in a big hole. Without going into to many details now lets just say that I made the decision that I needed to change a lot of things. It took me about six years to climb my way out and when I made it out the other side I vowed to never go into debt for anything ever again (except a house). About that time I met the most wonderful and beautiful woman in the world. She was so great but she was also just like the rest of the country. She had a leased car, student loans, CC debt. After dating for a while and wanting to take things to the next level we had a long talk about Finances and Debt. I explained my reasons for never borrowing money and the importance of her having the same views, and the good thing was that she agreed with me right away. She put together a plan and started attacking her debt while we continued to grow our relationship. Fast forward to our 5th anniversary and we have done a monthly budget together every month. During the first three years of our marriage we were able to pay off the entire $75,00o that she had left along with paying cash to  put our dog through Chemo. We have our emergency fund set up and our retirement accounts are going up every month. It is not easy saving up to buy things you want and having to delay pleasure in this world of instant gratification but whenever life throws us a curve ball wondering how we are going to get through it does not involve alot of financial worry. Now don’t get me wrong we are not swimming in piles of money. We just are able to manage the money we have and when you don’t have most of your income going to car payments, CC, student loans, and huge house/property tax payments you have a lot more wiggle room. The purpose of this Blog is to share some of the victories and struggles with you as well as pass on some tips we have learned over the years. So if you have any questions please let us know.

Responses

  1. Yuk the fish finder was sooo cool. Did we ever catch a fish using that thing? Anyway good story I remember it all. Chris


Leave a Reply

Categories

